Task Force Charge, Structure & Timeline

AHPTF =

Task Force Co-Chairs

Dir. Karnai, DSHA



Rep. Kendra Johnson



Sen. Russ Huxtable



Composition & Membership

as of 8/27/24

- Senator Hocker, SD-20
- Representative Hilovsky, RD-4
- David Edgell, Office of State Planning Coordination
- Dayna Cobb, Division of Climate, Coastal & Energy
- Kevin Spence, Delaware League of Local Governments
- Wes Stefanik, Delaware Association of Realtors

- Debra Burgos, Delaware Apartment Association
- Mike Riemann, Home Builders Association of Delaware
- Jerry Heisler, Reybold Group
- Karen Speakman, NeighborGood Partners
- Korey Thompson
- Kevin Smith, Habitat for Humanity of NCCo
- Amy Walls, Discover

Task Force Charge

Make findings and recommendations on how the State and local governments can promote the production of rental units and homes that are affordable at various income levels throughout Delaware.

- Consider and review best practices related to land use, affordable housing production, and affordable housing financing adopted in other states;
- Review zoning and permitting laws and regulations that govern residential land use and evaluate how well they enable or inhibit the production of affordable housing; and
- Study and review land use development and residential housing construction industry practices to determine what factors, in Delaware, are limiting the production of affordable housing opportunities for households below 120% AMI.

Approach to Task Force Charge

- Identify challenges and barriers to increasing supply to match demand
- Identify potential solutions
- Prioritize actionable recommendations and strategies
- For each recommendation, indicate:
 - Who should implement (State/Local Gov't/Private Sector);
 - Whether implementation will require legislation, regulatory changes, and/or funding subsidies

Task Force Timeline

Aug. 29th: 1st Task Force Meeting

Oct. 3rd: 2nd Task Force Meeting

October – December: Subcommittees meet once per month

January 2025: 3rd Full Task Force Meeting - Subcommittees

report out on recommendations;

Subcommittees meet to clean up

recommendations as needed

February 2025: 4th Task Force Meeting

March 1, 2025: Final Report Due

Required Subcommittees

- Regulatory & Permitting
 - Chair: David Edgell, OSPC
- Finance & Development
 - Chair: Amy Walls, Discover
- Construction
 - Chair: Mike Riemann, Home Builders Association of DE
- Manufactured Housing
 - Chair: TBD
- Community Focus Groups
 - Chair: TBD

Subcommittee Structure

- Must be chaired by a task force member
- Can have up to 9 members total, including the chair
- Will meet approximately 4 times outside of regular task force meetings
- Each subcommittee has specific topics to consider per HB 442

Contact Information

Caitlin Del Collo, DSHA

Phone: 302-739-0234

Email: housing.taskforce@delaware.gov

www.destatehousing.com/about/housing-production-task-force/